Lambing live 2012 …….. the start


So March 6th 6 .30am Sharon who had been covering the night shift in the lambing shed texted Kate to say that she thought one ewe had started lambing………….

So I went out to look whilst Kate had a shower…and yes Sharon was right and we were in business!! It was one of our shearling ewes, and a first time Mum, so we knew we would be in for a little wait.

So we waited and waited …….. I went to work………. and phoned in regularly……… and waited……… and then at 4pm Kate helped deliver a stonking big lamb……. a little girl 🙂

Beautiful !!

So as Mum and lamb bonded I think exhaustion was felt all around. Sharon had not wanted to miss anything and had stayed up most of the day, Kate had only been in bed 2 hours when things started at 6.30……… so when I got home at 6.45 pm we did a quick review of the lambing rota. Sharon made a great supper, then Kate stayed on duty until midnight, to ensure little lamb was ok, I went to bed in order to get up to cover midnight until 8 and Sharon took some well deserved rest too. I am not working tomorrow/ today Wednesday, so can muck in 🙂

So I am now on duty and camped in lambing central……. the little caravan, with Russel !

Mum and lamb are doing great and there is no sign of anyone else kicking off. Kate has gone to bed with a hot water bottle and well ……………I am in charge 🙂

A funny thing happened at work today……. I was talking to a patient about farming, as she was a farmers wife, and the care agency manager, Tia, and I were talking afterwards and she showed great interest in the farm. When I  said we kept pigs, she asked if I had seen those pigs off the A449, as she had nearly crashed the car looking at those little piglets……… well small world eh, and I think she was exaggerating about crashing the car, but when  said that they were our pigs she was gob smacked!!

I digress……… so Kates entry into the lambing journal for today says…………

An exhausting shift but its great to get going on a positive note. A good healthy ewe lamb………….. then a whole load of instructions as to what I need to watch out for tonight……… from the national flock 15% of lambs die, an appalling national statistic. Although some losses are inevitable, the plan is ……….. not on our watch……… if at all possible!

I will keep you posted 🙂

do check out our website if you have not already ……….. littleblackpig.co.uk

 

2 thoughts on “Lambing live 2012 …….. the start

  1. JR

    time for cocktail sticks and painted on eyes me thinks, make sure that you do eat something Kate! and get some Kip 🙂

Leave a Reply

