Bank Holiday weekend tales !


So today Bank Holiday Sunday and we have just been to our local ………. The Fruiterers Arms 🙂 we only went in for a quickie and ended up being propositioned by two gentlemen ………… although that could be stretching the point ………… average age 72 !!!! So anyway we are safely home and Kate is doing the evening rounds and I am making soup…… and blogging 🙂

So this morning was a beautiful start and as I was awake at 6.30 and the weather was good I thought I had better get up……… so I did. Kate was due a lie in and also if she wanted to return the favour I am off tomorow too.

So I started the rounds

It was a beautiful morning and I thought it best to get on before it rained……….

Letting out our new chickens first

 

They are so loving being out and about ……… we still have to perch them at nght as they are so unused to luxery living! Hopefully they will all be laying soon as demand and supply is a very close thing currently.

So than onto the pigs

Here our sows are demonstrating the standy upy and the recumbant ways of feeding !! Poor Mums will be glad when we wean the piglets ……….. maybe tomorrow.

Here Sapphire and  Dorothy and Sapphires piglet ………… our first ……… enjoy their breakfast. I am thinking we will call Sapphires daughter Willow ! What do you reckon? We are going to keep her for breeding with Babe !

Here is our oldest Berkshire who we think is expecting …… well here she is expecting breakfast ………… but we think she is in pig !!!! So we have brought her and our other Berkshire near the barn to keep a watchfull eye.

Then a quick check of the lambs and one does not seem quite right !

A little bit dirty and slightly distracted by her shoulder…………….. hmmnn maybe a bit of fly strike…………. so I retired to the caravan and at 9.30 I woke Kate and within 40 mins we were having a look.

Ok at this stage we had already investigated her shoulder and found some fly eggs and treated her appropriately………. hugely relieved to have caught it early. We then gave her a pedicure and general look over. She seems to be giving Kate a good look over too!

So we then rounded up the ewes and trimmed their feet until our backs started to scream out ………… and then we went to the pub at 4 pm 🙂

I am constantly amazed at how much I enjoy this farming life………… I can’t remember the last time I cried cos I was soooo very tired. I think I must be a bit fitter. It helps that Kate and I do pull together and we are a good team so that makes life much better……….and  almost but not quite ……….. easy 🙂

One thought on “Bank Holiday weekend tales !

Leave a Reply

