17 lambs does not a lambing make……


“17 lambs does not a lambing make, nor one fine day; similarly one day or brief time of happiness does not make a person entirely happy.”

I think it was Aristotle that well known Greek sheep farmer who said this a few years before I was born. And how right he was !!!

So we have 17 lambs and yet still all these ewes to go….

001

And some of them are rather big and likely to be tricky lambings 😦

But we have 17 healthy lambs and yesterday we moved some of them into the barn in readiness for turning out.

003

for a better look click here

And today it has been the q word …. which I dare not say as I am hoping for a few snoozes tonight.

So I am feeling quite philosophical tonight …… I am so very lucky to be having the chance to experience living as close as this to the land and the trials and tribulations that starting this small holding has brought with it…. but I would not have missed it for the world. 

No! Try not. Do, or do not. There is no try.

–YODA, Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

3 thoughts on “17 lambs does not a lambing make……

  1. Simon Ross

    Aristotle and Yoda. Fantastic. You’ve surpassed yourself Ali. Also, am I right in thinking you’ve not had much sleep recently? 

    Hope you’re both well. 

    Love, 

    Simon. 

    Sent from Samsung Galaxy

    • littleblackpig

      No I am quite fresh from a week at work and hoping to take some of the lambing pressure off Kate for the next few days…. maybe a little bit sleep deprived 🙂
      Watch out for my next blog !

Leave a Reply

